Champions of the Champions: which is the lucky group

Mexico City /

The curiosity of the draw usually refers us immediately to what can be called the Death Group; when it comes to the Champions League -where the most powerful teams on the planet meet- that desire to find the most complicated sector increases, but have you ever wondered: What is the Lucky Group of the Champions League?

The group that has given the most Champions of Champions

By Lucky Group we mean the one has produced more winners of the Orejona since the eight-sector format was adopted with four teams each in the Season 1999-2000. There is a very clear trend because in 22 editions since then, practically a third (seven) have been crowned in Europe from the Group F.

The good inertia began a year after the new format, in 2000-2001 with the Bayern Munich, which in the 2012-2013 campaign repeated the continental title leaving that sector. Real Madrid (2016-2017), Barcelona (2014-2015), Inter de Milan (2009-2010), Manchester United (2007-2008) and Porto (2003-2004) are the other clubs for which the “F” was the lucky one and coincidentally the Red Devils are again in that peloton along with Villarreal, Atalanta and Young Boys.

The ‘salty’ group: only one champion

If being in the F is taken as a good omen, the reverse happens in the Group D and Group G because they have thrown the champion once each. In 2002-2003, the then powerful AC Milan conquered the Orejona from Group G; eight years later, in 2010-2011, it was the Barcelona raising the flag of Group D.

For this edition, the “curse” would weigh on Real Madrid, that next to Inter de Milan start as favorites in D, while in G there does not seem to be any who start with high aspirations, being Seville the most recognized.

Champions of the Champions by group

Below is the list of all UEFA Champions League champions and the group they came from, reiterating that the data is from the 1999-2000 Season when the current format of eight groups was adopted.

  • Real Madrid | Group E | 1999-2000
  • Bayern Munich | Group F | 2000-2001
  • Real Madrid | Group A | 2001-2002
  • AC Milan | Group G | 2002-2003
  • FC Porto | Group F | 2003-2004
  • Liverpool FC | Group A | 2004-2005
  • FC Barcelona | Group C | 2005-2006
  • AC Milan | Group H | 2006-2007
  • Manchester United | Group F | 2007-2008
  • FC Barcelona | Group C | 2008-2009
  • Inter Milan | Group F | 2009-2010
  • FC Barcelona | Group D | 2010-2011
  • Chelsea | Group E | 2011-2012
  • Bayern Munich | Group F | 2012-2013
  • Real Madrid | Group B | 2013-2014
  • FC Barcelona | Group F | 2014-2015
  • Real Madrid | Group A | 2015-2016
  • Real Madrid | Group F | 2016-2017
  • Real Madrid | Group H | 2017-2018
  • Liverpool FC | Group C | 2018-2019
  • Bayern Munich | Group B | 2019-2020
  • Chelsea | Group E | 2020-2021