MLB: Teamwork! Rays pitches no hitter or seven-inning combined run

The only game without an official hit or run in the history of the Tampa Bay Rays still belongs to right-hander Matt Garza, who went nine innings without allowing a hit against the Detroit Tigers on July 26, 2010. What five Rays pitchers did in their 4-0 slate win over Cleveland on Wednesday night. late at Tropicana Field, it won’t be remembered the same way, but it won’t soon be forgotten either.

Veteran law Collin McHugh, left-hander Josh Fleming, as well as right-handers Diego Castillo, Matt Wisler and Pete Fairbanks they launched a Combined seven-inning no hitter or touchdown which will not enter the record books as an official no-hitter, much like left-hander Madison Bumgarner’s seven-inning solo effort for the Arizona D-backs on April 25:

Fairbanks shook his fist and screamed as newly debuted right fielder Vidal Bruján grabbed onto the warning track for the final out, but there were no piles of dogs near the mound, no raucous celebration around the infield.

According to Elias Sports Bureau, Major League Baseball’s official statistician, neither a team nor an individual pitcher will be credited with an official no-hitter game in a scheduled seven-inning doubleheader game, unless that game goes to extra tickets. According to Elias, any game of less than nine innings in which a pitcher or pitchers do not allow a hit should be considered a “remarkable achievement.”

This was remarkable, okay. Not just because of the Rays’ pitching, who struck out eight and walked two, but because of the defense that thwarted every attempt by the Ohio Tribe to secure a hit in the second half of this year’s doubleheader sweep. Wednesday. Tampa Bay won the first game by score 8-1.

It may interest you: MLB: Cubs throw no hitter or run combined to Dodgers and tie record.

In the No-Hitter, Collin McHugh pitched two three-strikeout innings, leaving his ERA at 1.77; He was followed by winner Josh Fleming (2.2 and two chocolates- 3.26), Diego Castillo with a third (3.16), Matt Wisler with a drive and two strikeouts (4.20) and Pete Fairbanks closed with one act and a fan (3.60).