LVBP: Sharks win a hitting duel

The La Guaira Sharks relied on an explosive night on Juan Fernández’s offense and beat the Aragua Tigres 17-11 in a batting festival in the Venezuelan Professional Baseball League.

Both teams combined to hit 31 hits.

Juan Fernández went 3-for-4-3 with a double, a home run and six RBIs, Luis Avilés Jr went 3-for-5 with four RBIs and Teodoro Martínez went 3-for-5 with two RBIs and three runs scored.

Aldry Acosta (2-0) retired 1 2/3 innings without allowing a run to claim victory. The defeated was Dedgar Jiménez (0-1), beaten with seven touchdowns and seven hits in just one inning of work.

Also in La Guaira, the Cardenales de Lara crushed the Navegantes del Magallanes 12-0.

Juniel Querecuto was 4-2 with a double and three RBIs, Ildemaro Vargas was 5-4 with two doubles and two RBIs and Pedro Castellanos was 5-3 with two RBIs.

Luis Carrasco (2-0) retired a perfect tackle and scored the victory. The defeat went to Gabriel García (1-1), after conceding four touchdowns and six hits in three innings.

In Maracaibo, the Anzoátegui Caribs supported a solid start by Mayckol Guaipe with an offensive display of 19 hits and defeated the Águilas del Zulia 10-3.

Guaipe (1-0) completed five blank innings, shooting just three hits to win the game. It was lost by Elvis Araujo (0-2), punished with six touchdowns and nine hits in three and a third innings.

Roberto Chirinos was 3-for-5 with a double, a triple and four RBIs, Niuman Romero was 4-2 with two RBIs and Oswaldo Arcia hit a solo home run.

In Porlamar, Margarita’s Braves attacked with four touchdowns in the same first inning, en route to a 5-4 victory over the Caracas Leones.

Breyvic Valera was 3-for-1 with a double and two RBIs, David Rodriguez went 4-2 with an RBI and Luis Castro hit a solo home run.

Kender Villegas won (1-0) with one inning and two-thirds of work, in which he allowed one run and two hits. The setback went to the record of Alex Sanabia (0-1), punished with four touchdowns in just two-thirds of the inning.

The Braves lead the circuit with a 8-4 record, followed by Cardinals (7-4), Lions (6-5), Sharks (6-5), Navigators (5-5), Caribs (5-5), Eagles ( 4-8) and Tigres (3-8).


We would like to say thanks to the writer of this post for this remarkable web content

LVBP: Sharks win a hitting duel