What you should know about the All-Star Game between Liga MX and MLS

This Wednesday, MLS and Liga MX put their best elements on the field for the All Star Game

Concacaf’s top leagues will meet for the first time in a match that will bring together some of the biggest players from both championships. The engagement promises to be spectacular with both teams wanting to win.

ESPN Digital presents everything you need to know about the All-Star Game between MLS and Liga MX.

Date and time

The match between the stars of Liga MX and MLS will be played on Wednesday, August 25. The duel is scheduled to start at 8:30 p.m. in Mexico City and you can enjoy the commitment through the screen of ESPN.


The meeting will be played in Los Angeles, California on the field of the Banc of California Stadium, home of the LAFC of Carlos Vela, who was one of the stars considered by MLS but will not be able to be in the game due to physical problems. On the other hand, the Banc of California building has capacity for more than 20 thousand people.


Like El ‘Bombardero’, other MLS and Liga MX figures will not be able to take part in the game due to injury problems, but both Bob Bradley, coach of the United States championship, and Juan Reynoso, strategist of the Mexican representative, will have squads competitive. Here are the players from both squads.

Goalkeepers: Guillermo Ochoa (America), Nahuel Guzman (Tigers) and Alfredo Talavera (Cougars)

Defenses: Cesar Montes (Scratched), William Tesillo (Lion), Salvador Reyes (America), Matheus Doria (Santos Laguna), Pablo Aguilar (Blue Cross), Victor Guzman (Tijuana), Juan Escobar (Blue Cross), Jorge Sanchez (America) and Jesus gallardo (Scratched)

Midfielders: Javier Salas (Puebla), Pedro Aquino (America), Diego Valdes (Santos Laguna), Angel Mena (Lion), Luis Romo (Blue Cross), Fernando Gorriarán (Saints), Rubens Sambueza (Toluca), Erik Lira (Pumas) and Orbelín Pineda (Blue Cross)

Forwards: Rogelio Funes Mori (Scratched), Alexis Vega (Chivas), Jonathan Rodriguez (Blue Cross), Pedro Canelo (Toluca) and Nicolas Ibáñez (Pachuca)

Goalkeepers: André Blake (Philadelphia Union), Pedro Gallese (Orlando City) and Matt turner (New England Revolution)

Defenses: Jesus Murillo (LAFC), Yeimar Gomez (Seattle Sounders), Julian Araujo (LA Galaxy), George Bello (Atlanta United), Miles Robinson (Atlanta United), Walker zimmerman (Nashville), Alex Roldan (Seattle Sounders), Kai wagner (Philadelphia Union), James sands (New York City) and Nouhou Tolo (Seattle Sounders)

Midfielders: Damir Kreilach (Real Salt Lake), Eduard Atuesta (LAFC), Cristian Roldan (Seattle Sounders), Emanuel Reynoso (Minnesota United), Rodolfo Pizarro (Inter Miami), Lucas Zelarayán (Columbus Crew) and Joao Paulo (Seattle Sounders)

Forwards: Daniel Salloi (Sporting Kansas City), Ricardo Pepi (FC Dallas), Cade cowell (San Jose Earthquakes), Raúl Ruidíaz (Seattle Sounders), Nani (Orlando City), Diego rossi (LAFC) and Gustavo Bou (New England Revolution)

Previous editions

The MLS All-Star Game is not a novelty for fans of the United States Championship, although it will be the first time that the figures of American football face the stars of Liga MX.

The first edition of the MLS All-Star Game was held in 1996 between the Western and Eastern conferences, the latter being the winner of the match. In 2003, the MLS stars faced Chivas de Guadalajara and the victory went to the representative of the American championship.

Starting in 2005, the MLS All-Star Games was played against European teams, with Manchester United, Chelsea, Roma, Bayern Munich, Arsenal, Real Madrid, Juventus and Atlético de Madrid being some of the most prominent guests.