European clubs add ten-year hegemony over South Americans in the Club World Cup

With Chelsea’s defeat against Palmeiras, a decade has passed since the last time Conmebol celebrated a title against a European in the Club World Cup

With the defeat of Palmeiras against Chelsea in the Club World Cup held in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates, ten years of a championship drought have been recorded for a South American representative in the fair.

The last time a Conmebolse representative was proclaimed champion of the Club World Cup was in 2012when Corinthians won 1-0 over the ‘Blues’, with an outstanding performance by Peruvian striker Paolo Guerrero.

From that stumble to date, the representatives of European football have been proclaimed champions of the Club World Cup, with five representatives of Spanish football, two Germans and a couple of English.

During these ten years of drought in South American football in the Club World Cup, there are five clubs that have lost the final in the ‘Mundialito’: San Lorenzo (2014), River Plate (2015), Guild (2017), flamingo (2019) and palm trees (2022).

Given the dominance of European football in the Club World Cup in the last ten years, Real Madrid remains in the lead as the club with the most titles with four cups, in second place is the Bayern Munich with two titles and one championship per club is Barcelona, Liverpool Y Chelsea.

The meringues remain the main headache for South American clubs in the Club World Cupafter winning against San Lorenzo (2014) and Gremio (2017).

Similarly, Barcelona beat River Plate in 2015, Liverpool beat Flamengo in 2019 and Chelsea beat Palmeiras in this editionlike the last European clubs that were defeated by the South American representatives.

We wish to thank the author of this short article for this awesome material

European clubs add ten-year hegemony over South Americans in the Club World Cup