Cruz Azul will be the base of the starting eleven for the Liga MX vs. MLS

The best players in the 2020-21 season in Liga MX will be measured against their MLS counterpart on August 25

Liga MX presented the players who will represent Mexican soccer in the All-Star Game against the best of MLS on August 25. The team, which will be led by Juan Reynoso, is dominated by Cruz Azul and does not have players from Chivas or Pumas.

Juan Reynoso (Cruz Azul) won the best coach of the year from Ignacio Ambriz (León). The intention of Liga MX was that both were in the bench. However, only the Peruvian will be there, after the Mexican left for Spain to lead Huesca.

Jesús Corona (Cruz Azul), Alfredo Talavera (Toluca) and Guillermo Ochoa (América) will be the goalkeepers of the Liga MX team. Corona is to be the Best Goalkeeper of the Year, Talavera to be the other nominee, while Ochoa was chosen by Reynoso.

There will be five central defenders to face the All-Star Game. Matheus Doria (Santos), Pablo Aguilar (Cruz Azul), Víctor Guzmán (Tijuana), César Montes (Monterrey) and William Tesillo (León).

Fernando Navarro (León), Salvador Reyes (Puebla), Juan Escobar (Cruz Azul) and Jesús Gallardo (Monterrey) appear for the winger position.

Eight footballers appear in the midfielder position: Luis Romo (Cruz Azul), Luis Montes (León), Fernando Gorriarán (Santos), Rubens Sambueza (Toluca), Guido Pizarro (Tigres), Pedro Aquino (América), Diego Valdés (Santos ) and Ángel Mena (León).

Up front will be Jonathan Rodríguez (Cruz Azul), Pedro Canelo (Toluca), Santiago Muñoz (Santos), André-Pierre Gignac (Tigres) and Rogelio Funes Mori (Monterrey).

The complete list of footballers:


José de Jesús Corona, Cruz Azul (Best Goalkeeper) Alfredo Talavera, Pumas (Nominated for Best Goalkeeper) Guillermo Ochoa, América (Selected by the Best DT)


Matheus Doria, Santos Laguna (Best Defense) Pablo Aguilar Cruz Azul (Nominated for Best Defense) Víctor Guzmán, Tijuana (Best Rookie) César Montes, Monterrey (Selected by Best DT) William Tesillo, León (Selected by Best DT)


Fernando Navarro, León (Best Winger) Salvador Reyes, Puebla (Nominated for Best Winger) Juan Marcelo Escobar, Cruz Azul (Selected by the Best DT) Jesús Gallardo, Monterrey (Selected by the Best DT)


Luis Romo, Cruz Azul (Best Defensive Midfield) Luis Montes, León (Best Attacking Midfield) Fernando Gorriarán, Santos Laguna (Nominated for Best Defensive Midfield) Rubens Sambueza, Toluca (Nominated for Best Attacking Midfield) Guido Pizarro, Tigres (Selected by the Best DT) Pedro Aquino, América (Selected by the Best DT) Diego Valdés, Santos Laguna (Selected by the Best DT) Ángel Mena, León (Selected by the Best DT)


Jonathan Rodríguez, Cruz Azul (Best Forward) Pedro Canelo, Toluca (Nominated for Best Forward) Santiago Muñoz, Santos Laguna (Nominated for Best Rookie) André-Pierre Gignac, Tigres (Selected by Best Manager) Rogelio Funes Mori, Monterrey (Selected by the Best DT)

Technical director:

Juan Reynoso, Cruz Azul (Best Technical Director)