The Basketball Super 20 that takes place in Córdoba was presented »Municipality of Córdoba

  • Our city will host the North Zone.
  • The matches begin on Friday, September 24 at the Ángel Sandrín stadium, at the Instituto.

The Basketball Super 20 was presented this Thursday, a tournament that will take place from Friday 24 to Wednesday 30 September at the Ángel Sandrín stadium, of the Instituto Atlético Central Córdoba club.

The Super 20 is a championship that brings together the 20 teams of the First Division of Argentine basketball and serves as preparation for the National League, in addition to classifying a team to the South American League.

This is the fifth edition of the contest in which the 20 clubs will be divided into four zones – two from the North Conference and two from the South – of five teams each. The games will begin to be played in two venues, the 10 in the North in Córdoba, on the Institute field and the 10 in the South, in Buenos Aires.

“It is very important for the city of Córdoba that sporting events of the size of the basketball bubble come to our city. First, because sport is synonymous with healthy life, it is an example that one wants to show to the young people of the city, but in addition to sport we must see it as an industry that generates employment and income, which motivates the tourism industry in the use and consumption of hotels, restaurants, among others “, highlighted the Secretary of Government of the Municipality of Córdoba, Miguel Siciliano, in the presentation of the North Zone.

For his part, the treasurer of the Association of Basketball Clubs and sports director of the Argentine Basketball Confederation, Andrés Pelussi, stated: “We are very happy that another season can be launched with the 20 teams of the highest category of national basketball. We are grateful to the leaders of the different clubs and to the mayor Martín Llaryora for their support for this event ”.

The presentation of the North Zone, in which the Institute and Atenas are located, also had the presence of the Undersecretary of Sports and Recreation, Medardo Ligorria and officials of the area; the president of the Córdoba Sports Agency, Héctor Campana; national leaders of the Association of Basketball Clubs and local leaders of the Atenas and Instituto clubs.

The North Zone is divided into two groups: North Conference 1, with Instituto, Atenas, Quimsa de Santiago, Olímpico de La Banda and Riachuelo de La Rioja and North Conference 2, with Regattas, San Martín and Communications (all of Corrientes), La Unión de Formosa and Oberá TC de Misiones.

The South is made up of San Lorenzo, Ferro Carril Oeste, Platense, Gimnasia de Comodoro and Peñarol de Mar del Plata (Southern Conference 1) and Boca Juniors, Obras, Unión de Santa Fe, Argentino de Junín and Hispano Americano de Río Gallegos (Conference South 2).

The first date of the North Zone will be played tomorrow, Friday, September 24 with this schedule of matches: Riachuelo-Oberá (at 11), Olímpico-San Martín (14), Quimsa-Regatas (16.30), Atenas-La Unión (19 ) and Institute-Communications (21.30).