Six teams qualify for the final phase of the Men’s Under-17 Basketball League; in Guayaquil the title will be disputed | Other Sports | sports

Floresta Guayas will contest the crown at home against five teams from Pichincha, Imbabura, El Oro (2) and Tungurahua.

On Guayaquil, Machala and Quito the first phase of the National Men’s Basketball League, category sub-17, where the sets of Guayas Forest (Guayas), Monsters (PIchincha), Pirate of the Lakes (Imbabura), Ambato Soldiers (Tungurahua), Santa María and Orense SC (El Oro) went to the final phase, to contest the crown on the final date to be held in Guayaquil.

The first phase of the tournament, in its first six dates, was played in Azogues, Ambato, Ibarra, Zamora, Riobamba and Sangolquí; while days 7, 8 and 9 were held in Guayaquil, Machala and Quito.

Monsters reached their classification after winning the six games they played: 99-25 a Crossover, 106-44 to Spartans, 119-34 to Blue Devils, 75-56 to San Pedro Taboada, 103-52 to A Score, and 56-54 to Pirates of the Lakes.

For its part, Pirates of the Lakes recorded the following scores: 100-46 to A Score, 112-45 to Crossover, 108-69 to Spartans, 119-47 to Blue Devils, 72-70 to San Pedro Taboada and lost to Monsters 54-56.

The scores recorded by Floresta Guayas in the six games were 85-16 with victory over Selva Sucúa, 76-34 to Atlético Sucre, 73-53 to Koryo Chimborazo, 64-45 to Importadora Alvarado, 104-30 to Rhinos, and lost 54-61 to Ambato Soldiers.

For its part, the Tungurahua team defeated 65-31 in the group stage. Athletic Sucre, 85-55 a Sucúa Jungle, 102-26 a Rhinos, 63-47 a Koryo Chimborazo, 61-54 a Guayas Forest, and 104-44 a Importer Alvarado.

In group 3, Santa Maria they beat ATUC-Atenas 84-36, Olympus 79-68, Orense SC 52-48, Henko 60-37, Fénix Santa Rosa 63-53, lost 44-47 to Alma Fuerte and then won 77- 53 to Zamora Jaguars.

For its part, Orense SC defeated Olimpo 81-78, Henko 56-50, lost 48-52 against Santa María and 30-37 against Fénix Santa Rosa, then recovered by defeating Alma Fuerte 65-31, 53-48 against Zamora Jaguars, 77- 15 to ATUC-Athens.

Then they played the round of 16, in the three series, quarter-finals, semifinals and the final that defined the two winners of each of the three groups.

The standings, of the three series, played in the qualifying phase, were structured as follows:

Group 1

1. Monsters, 2. Pirates of the Lakes, 3. San Pedro de Taboada, 4. Spartans, 5. To score, 6. Crossover, 7. Blue Devils.

Group 2

1. Ambato Soldiers, 2. Floresta Guayas, 3. Importadora Alvarado, 4. Atlético Sucre, 5. Koryo Chimborazo, 6. Rhinos, 7. Selva Sucúa.

Group number 3

1. Santa María, 2. Orense SC, 3. Olimpo, 4. Strong Soul, 5. Fénix Santa Rosa, 6. Zamora Jaguars, 7. Henko, 8. ATUC-Atenas. (D)