Roadrunner basketball champion Puerto Plata – Momento Deportivo RD

Trophy delivery to the champions. External source

SILVER PORT.- The Roadrunner Squad of the Lower Part won this Sunday its fifth crown in the Superior Basketball Tournament of this city in its 26th version, after defeating the Sosúa Sharks 106 by 100, in the fourth game of the final series held at the Roof Fabio Rafael González.

The Lower Part won the Ministry of Sports Cup by sweeping the Sharks 4-0, the contest that was dedicated to the Administrative Minister of the Presidency, José Ignacio Paliza.

Bernardo Polanco was the top scorer for the champions led by Radhames Paulino with 26 points, 8 rebounds and 6 assists, Kelvin Peña had a double-double with 21 units, 10 assists, 4 rebounds and 4 steals, Juan Guerrero 21, 13 catches and 6 assists, Cameron Lard 17, 16 rebounds and 4 blocks and Junior Martínez scored 14, grabbed 6 rebounds and distributed 10 assists.

1652840807 555 Roadrunner basketball champion Puerto Plata Momento Deportivo RD

Kelvin Peña receives the Most Valuable Player trophy. External source

Among the runners-up, Ronald Tineo scored 29 points, Diosel Ulloa 18, 10 rebounds and 3 blocks, Jhosuan Jiménez 18 and 4 rebounds, Gilwan Nelson 16 and 6 rebounds, and Emmanuel Marte 11 and 4 assists.

The Correcaminos achieved their fifth championship, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1996 and now in 2022.

At halftime of the match, the Lower Part team paid tribute and the withdrawal of jacket number 14, to the legendary former player Alfonso Miranda.

The event was organized by the Puerto Plata Basketball Association (ABAPPLATA) chaired by engineer Addiel Pérez.

Kelvin Pena MVP.

The native Kelvin Peña was chosen the Most Valuable Player of the final series with an average of 18.2 points, 5.2 rebounds, 11.2 assists and 3.2 steals per game.

Champions in the franchise stage with their leaders.

2004- Red Devils of Batey – Ramón Artiles

2005- Red Devils of Batey – Ramón Artiles

2006 – Twins of the South – José García

2007 – Red Devils of Batey – José García

2008 – Parrots of Gustavo – Nelson Ureña

2009 – Twins of the South – José García

2010 – Parrots of Gustavo – Modesto Guillen

2011 – Parrots of Gustavo – José García

2013 – Twins of the South – José Cabrera

2014 – Sosúa Sharks – Ezequías Cordero

2015 – Twins of the South – Juan José Morrobel

2017 – Sosúa Sharks – Ezequías Cordero

2018 – Sosúa Sharks – Ezequías Cordero

2021 – Eduardos del Batey – Richard Ortega

2022 – Lower Part Roadrunner – Radhames Paulino

We wish to give thanks to the author of this write-up for this remarkable material

Roadrunner basketball champion Puerto Plata – Momento Deportivo RD