Pirata de Los Lagos wins the final of the National Basketball League, men’s under-17 category; Floresta Guayas finishes third | Other Sports | sports

Representation from imbaburean took 20 points ahead of Ambato Soldiers to win the crown.

The Pirata de Los Lagos quintet, from Imbabura, surprised in the final of the National Basketball League, under-17 men’s category, by defeating the Ambato Soldiers team, from Tungurahua, 77-57.

The imbaburan team, led by Paúl Cano, lost the first quarter 10-12; The error in the Pirates’ shooting allowed the Ambateños to maintain the advantage in the second period and go to the break with 4 points of advantage by winning 19-23.

At 5 minutes and 39 seconds to the end of the third episode, it was the last time that the Ambateños were ahead on the scoreboard 30-32, because then the duel was tied 32-32, at 5 minutes and 4 seconds, and it was the The imbaburan team that took the reins of the commitment and for the rest of the third quarter put the scoreboard 51-40 in their favor.

Then, in the restart of the meeting, Janer Arcila Castillo tried a shot for 3 points, but failed; rather, it was Emerson Ubidia who increased by scoring two points. Francisco Argoti followed that line, who put the score 55-40 and then with a shot from outside the area made the score rise 58-42, when before Paúl Sivinta had contributed with 2 points for the Ambateños.

Carlos Maldonado, Argoti, Carlos Maldonado, Ubidia, Dany Caicedo, Becker Enríquez and Jhordi Silva managed to reach 77-57 points to obtain the victory, which meant seizing the national title.


Janer Arcila, with 23 points – 8 of them were from 2-point baskets, 9 from three 3-pointers and 6 from free kicks – became the best for the champions. He had 5 assists, tried 12 shots of 2 points and 7 of 3 points.

Together with Arcila they contributed to the title of the imbabureños Carlos Maldonado, with 15 points; Francisco Argoti, 11; Dany Caicedo, 10; Emerson Ubidia, 9; Rommel Cevallos, 4; and Becker Enríquez, 2.

Carlos Hurtado (51), from Ambato Soldiers, disputes the ball with Rommel Cevallos, from Pirata de Los Lagos; while watching Janer Alcívar (11), Dany Caicedo (22) and Carlos Maldonado (13). Photo: José Beltrán

On the other hand, for the vice-champion team of the competition, Geovanny Filian Ríos (13), Paúl Silvinta, 12; Juan Cepeda, 10; Carlos Hurtado, 8; Tyler Quintero, 8; Anthony Mendieta, 6.

Floresta Guayas, third

In the dispute for third place in the tournament, Floresta Guayas, as the first best loser, played that position with Monster, from Pichincha, and took revenge for the defeat he suffered in the first phase of the final competition.

For the second game, the Guayaquil quintet, led by Argentine Miguel Salvitelli, improved their aim and took a 3-point advantage by winning 68-51 and winning the bronze medal.

They contributed 16 points to the victory of Floresta Guayas, Allan Benalcázar; Christhian Albuja, 10; Jafet Valencia, 9; Andrés Valarezo, 7; Franklin Ruiz, 7; Valentín González, 6; Diego Morán, 5; Bruno Valero 4; José Gaviño, 2; and Paulo Salazar, 2.

Meanwhile, for the Pichinchano team they converted Kenny Recalde, 22; Abel Díaz, 8; Dennis González, 4; Jaime Ordóñez, 4; Diego Soto, 3; Kevin Murillo, 3; Misael Tinoco 3; Josué Ponce, 2 and Andrés León, 2. (D)