MLB: So are the rules to win the gold gloves in the majors

The gold gloves are delivered to players who had a good defense, however, there are other requirements to meet as a player of the MLB.

According to Rawlings Gloves, these are the rules:

  • All pitchers must have pitched in at least 141 innings for their team’s 141st game.
    A receiver must have played in at least half of his team’s games prior to his team’s 141st game (a minimum of 71 games).
  • All infielders and outfielders must have played the field for at least 713 innings total during their team’s 141 game – this equates to playing the field for approximately 7.5 innings per game in approximately 67% of the your team’s games for your team’s game 141; this ensures that only full-time players are considered.
  • All infielders and outfielders with at least 713 total innings played qualify at the specific position where he played the most innings (that is, where his manager used him the most).

Who are the ones who vote?

  • Only the manager and six (6) coaches from each Major League team vote, for a total of seven (7) votes per team. Each person must sign the entire ballot for it to be considered valid.
  • Managers and coaches cannot vote for their own players and can only vote for players from their own league.
  • Managers and coaches cast votes for players in particular positions, not in general terms; that is, qualified LF instead of three general OFs.
  • Eligibility for a Rawlings Gold Glove award closely follows the qualification standards set forth in MLB Rule 10.22 (Minimum Standards for Individual Championships). Only players listed in the resource guide are eligible for a Rawlings Gold Glove award at the specific position listed.
  • For the rules on qualifying players for a particular position, see the “Notes and Glossary” section of the resource guide.
  • Qualified players are ranked in alphabetical order.
    Votes are confidential between Major League Baseball and Rawlings Sporting Goods Company, Inc.

Statistics that are more taken into account.

The SABR Defensive IndexTM (SDI) is a measure of the number of runs saved by a player’s defensive performance over the course of a season, compared to the average defensive player at that position.

The SDI combines measurements from six (6) different defensive data sources and includes factors that rate the strength and accuracy of the defender’s arm, range, and safety, along with the number of “excellent” and “poor” field plays. ” performing.

The SDI also incorporates a rating for a player’s ability to perform double plays (2B and SS), touches for the field (primarily P, C, 3B, and 1B), and ground throw balls (1B).

For receivers, ground ball blocking and stolen / caught stealing bases are also included.

For pitchers, SDI includes their ability to keep running backs on base and control the running game.

A positive SDI number indicates that a player was above average compared to other players at his position this season.

In contrast, a negative SDI number means that the player performed below the league average at this position this season.

Rawlings Gold Glove Awards are calculated based on a combination of managers / coaches and SABR.

We would like to thank the author of this article for this outstanding content

MLB: So are the rules to win the gold gloves in the majors