Miñoso, Hodges and Maris on the HOF committee ballot

COOPERSTOWN, NY – Gil Hodges, Roger Maris and Minnie Miñoso are among the 10 men on the ballot for the Golden Days Era committee for the Baseball Hall of Fame.

Dick Allen, Ken Boyer, Jim Kaat, Tony Oliva, Billy Pierce and Maury Wills are also on the ballot along with former Pittsburgh manager Danny Murtaugh, the Hall said Friday.

The 16-person committee vote, whose members will be announced later, is scheduled for December 5 at winter meetings in Orlando, Florida. Your ballot lists players whose main contributions were from 1950 to 1969.

A separate 16-person committee from the early era of baseball will also meet to consider pre-1950 candidates. His ballot includes seven Negro League players: John Donaldson, Bud Fowler, Vic Harris, Grant “Home Run” Johnson, Buck O ‘Neil, Dick “Cannonball” Redding and George Scales.

They are joined by Bill Dahlen, Lefty O’Doul, Allie Reynolds and George Scales.

To be elected to any of the committees, a candidate must appear on at least 75% of the ballots.

Anyone chosen will be admitted to Cooperstown on July 24 along with players chosen by the Baseball Writers Association of America (BBWAA), whose vote will be announced on January 25. First-time BBWAA eligibles include David Ortiz, Ryan Howard, Tim Lincecum, and Alex Rodriguez.

Barry Bonds and Roger Clemens, tainted by the steroid scandal, will be on the BBWAA ballot for the last time.

Hodges, an eight-time All-Star first baseman for the Dodgers and manager of the 1969 World Series champion New York Mets, received 63.4% of the ballot in 1983, falling 44 votes away from being elected in his last appearance. on the BBWAA ballot.

Maris, a two-time AL MVP who hit 61 home runs in 1961 to break Babe Ruth’s one-season record, received 43.1% in his last appearance on the BBWAA ballot in 1988.

Minoso peaked at 20.9% in his second appearance on the BBWAA ballot in 1986. He scored just 14.7% in his last appearance in 1999.

The early days voting candidates were selected by a special early baseball overview committee of five Negro Leagues historians: Gary Ashwill, Adrian Burgos Jr., Phil Dixon, Leslie Heaphy, and Claire Smith, and five members of the BBWAA who have served on the Hall’s Historical Description Committee: Jim Henneman, Steve Hirdt, Rick Hummel, Jim Reeves and Glenn Schwarz.

Candidates for the Golden Age vote were selected by Henneman, Hirdt, Hummel, Reeves, Schwarz, Bob Elliott, Dave O’Brien, Jack O’Connell, Tracy Ringolsby, Susan Slusser, and Mark Whicker.

Today’s Game Committee (1988 to present) will consider candidates in December 2022 and the Modern Baseball Committee (1970-87) will meet in December 2023.


We would love to thank the author of this article for this outstanding content

Miñoso, Hodges and Maris on the HOF committee ballot