Cuban Major Leaguers fight for major awards this season

With very little to go until the end of the regular 2021 campaign calendar, Cubans Jose Abreu, Yulieski Gurriel and Raisel Iglesias remain in the fight for the forefront of important individual leadership, while Adolis Garcia and Randy Arozarena they keep the wrestling for the award Rookie of the Year.

American League driving leader in the previous two seasons, Abreu (White Sox) tries the third plate in a row, has 109 trailers and is only three from the top, held by Venezuelan receiver Salvador Pérez (Royals).

It is worth noting that only seven players have won three consecutive RBI crowns. Namely, Cap Anson (twice, from 1880 to 1882 and from 1884 to 1886), Ty Cobb (1907-1909), Babe Ruth (1919-1921), Rogers Hornsby (1920-1922), Joe Medwick (1936- 1938), George Foster (1977-1979) and Cecil Fielder (1990-1992).

For his part, Gurriel (Astros) has experienced a formidable September that has him on the lookout for the batting title, with an average of .315 that overshadows the .317 of the Dominican Vladimir Guerrero (Blue Jays) and is identical to his teammate Michael Brantley.

This would be the first time in six courses that the Spaniard finished the championship above the .300 barrier, and for this purpose the upcoming seven challenges against the weak mountainous bodies of D-backs and Angels will be decisive.

As for Iglesias (Angels), he has 32 saves and is only surpassed on the junior circuit by Australian Liam Hendriks (White Sox).

The pinero closer has had a wonderful move to California, where he exhibits personal tops in wins (7), WHIP (0.906), K / 9 (13.5) and strikeout rate against walks (8.73).

Finally, the candidacy of Adolis (Rangers) for the RoY relies on his lead among rookies in home runs (30), while Arozarena (Rays) is supported by the lead in hits (130) and an offensive line of .270 / .349 / .455, with the second best OPS (.804 ).

His heaviest contenders will be Ryan Mountcastle (Orioles, 29 HR and 81 IQ) and Luis Garcia (Astros, 11-7 with a 3.37 ERA in 144.1 innings).

Previously, five Cubans have won the Major League Rookie of the Year distinction. These are the cases of Tony Oliva, the three José (Canseco, Fernández and Abreu) ​​and Yordan Álvarez.

We need your help:

Like you, thousands of Cubans they read and support the independent journalism of CiberCuba. Our editorial independence begins with our economic independence: no organization in any country finances CiberCuba. We make our own agenda, we publish our opinions and we give voice to all Cubans, without external influences.

Our newspaper has been financed until today only through advertising and own funds, but that limits what we can do. This is why we ask for your help. Your financial contribution will allow us to carry out more investigative journalism actions and increase the number of collaborators who report from the island, while preserving our editorial independence. Any contribution, big or small, will be very valuable for our future. From only $ 5 and with just one minute of your time you can collaborate with CiberCuba. Thanks.

Contribute now