Astros leads MLB with 7 finalists to the All-Star Game

The Houston Astros have seven finalists, the best in the majors, to start the 2021 All-Star Game.

The top three finalists for each position based on fan voting in each league, plus the designated hitter for the American League were announced Sunday.

Three teams, the Los Angeles Dodgers, Chicago Cubs and Toronto Blue Jays, have five finalists for the Midsummer Classic, which will be played on July 13 at Coors Field.

Voting for the finalists begins on Monday and ends on Thursday. The American League and National League All-Star starters, based on those votes, will be announced Thursday at 9 p.m. ET on ESPN. The rest of the All-Star teams will be announced next Sunday at 5:30 pm ET on ESPN.

The finalists:


American League: 1. Salvador Perez, Kansas City Royals; two. Martin Maldonado, Astros; 3. Yasmani grandal, Chicago White Sox

National League: 1. Buster posey, San Francisco Giants; two. Yadier Molina, St. Louis Cardinals; 3. Willson Contreras, Chicago Cubs

First base:

American League: 1. Vladimir Guerrero Jr., Blue Jays; two. Yuli gurriel, Astros; 3. Jose Abreu, White Sox

National League: 1. Max muncy, Dodgers; two. Freddie freeman, Atlanta Braves; 3. Anthony Rizzo, Cubs

Second base:

American League: 1. Marcus semien, Blue Jays; two. Jose Altuve, Astros; 3: DJ LeMahieu, New York Yankees

National League: 1. Ozzie albies, Braves; two. Adam Frazier, Pittsburgh Pirates; 3. Gavin lux, Dodgers

Short field:

American League: 1. Xander Bogaerts, Boston Red Sox; two. Bo bichette, Blue Jays; 3. Carlos Correa, Astros

National League: 1. Fernando Tatis Jr., San Diego Padres; two. Javier Baez, Cubs; 3. Brandon crawford, Giants

Third base:

American League: 1. Rafael Devers, Boston Red Sox; two. Alex Bregman, Astros; 3. Yoan moncada, White Sox

National League: 1. Kris bryant, Cubs; two. Nolan Arenado, Cardinals; 3. Justin turner, Dodgers


American League: 1. Mike trout, Los Angeles Angels: 2. Aaron Judge, Yankees; 3. Byron buxton, Minnesota Twins; Four. Michael Brantley, Astros; 5. Adolis Garcia, Texas Rangers; 6. Teoscar Hernandez, Blue Jays; 7. Cedric Mullins, Baltimore Orioles; 8. Alex Verdugo, Red Sox; 9. Randal Grichuk, Blue Jays

National League: 1. Ronald Acuna Jr., Braves; two. Nick Castellanos, Cincinnati Reds; 3. Jesse winker, Cincinnati Reds; Four. Mookie betts, Dodgers; 5. Chris taylor, Dodgers; 6. Juan Soto, Washington Nationals; 7. Bryce harper, Philadelphia Phillies; 8. Joc Pederson, Cubs; 9. Mike yastrzemski, Giants

Designated hitter:

American League: 1. Shohei ohtani, Angels; two. JD Martinez, Red Sox; 3. Yordan alvarez, Astros